What are the standards of decision making? There are four standards and in this article that’s exactly what you are going to learn. Informed consent definition; As a guardian, you will be the disabled person’s decision-maker.  This has not come naturally even to most people. You need to engage the specific thought process for every decision. These thought processes sometimes called ‘Decision Making Standards.

There are four different standards;

  1. Substituted Judgment
  2. Best Interest
  3. Least-Restrictive Alternative
  4. Informed Consent
There are 4 Standards of Decision Making

04 Different Standards of Decision Making

Substituted Judgment

The first standard of decision making is Substituted Judgment. It is base on what the disabled person would do if they had the ability to make their own decisions. This seems that the disabled person had that capacity at one time. Some guardians will know the person well enough to have that answer. You may have had a conversation with them before they lost capacity. Also, Or for has the person has made their wishes know in well, living well, contract or other documents.

If you don’t know how the disabled person decides, you need to do a little legwork. Learn about their preferences, values, lifestyle, and behaviors. As well as the decisions they made before losing capacity.

Speak with people who know the disabled people’s preferences such as family, friends, caregivers or crunchy. Finally consider the person’s religious, moral, cultural, & ethical beliefs.

Best Interest

The second decision-making standard is called the “best interest”. Sometimes, We use this one when you don’t know how the disabled person acts or when they never had capacity. Acting in the best interest means Weighing in the benefit against the burdens. Any act to a decision will place on the disabled persons.

It means considering all possibilities and choosing the option that will have to greatest benefit and resolved with the least harm to that person.

You may need to seek all independent opinions from experts such as doctors, social workers, attorneys or government agencies to help you with this process.

Least-Restrictive Alternative

So, the third standard is the Least-Restrictive Alternative, which means choosing the option that meets the needs of the disabled person and placing the fewest limits on their independence and dignity.

When you use the standards it will help to known the disabled person’s preferences, get professional opinions, and learn about community resources available to them.

Informed Consent

someone signing a paper about informed consent
The final decision-making standard is called Informed Consent

Informed Consent Definition

The final decision-making standard is called Informed Consent. As a guardian of the person, you must be given informed consent for the disabled person to receive care, treatment, or services. Informed consent;  understanding the purpose, risk, benefits, and alternative to any treatment or service you consider for the disabled person.

Your concern must also be given freely, without coercion or undue influence for others. If you making the decision as a guardian use this 04 no of decision-making standard.

Substituted judgment; is base on what the disabled person would do if they could. If you don’t know what they could do. You have had to use the Best interest; Weighing the benefits against the burdens of any act or decision.

Least-Restrictive Alternative; Meets the disabled person’s needs and places the fewest limits on them.

Finally, Informed consent requires use to understanding the purpose, risk, benefit, and alternative to any services you consider for the disabled persons.

Watch For More

If you want to learn about How To Improve Your Decision Making Skills | Decision Making Process then please watch the video below;

Read More About Standards of Decision Making


Write A Comment